Celebrating America's Women Physicians

Transparent spacer
A blue asterix

Message from the Ad Hoc Advisory Group

Transparent spacer

In 2001, Donald A.B. Lindberg, M.D., director of the National Library of Medicine, and Tenley Albright, M.D. invited distinguished individuals in the medical community to participate in an Ad Hoc Advisory Group and to nominate exemplary physicians for inclusion in Changing the Face of Medicine, an exhibition that celebrates the lives and achievements of America's women physicians.

Over the last 150 years, thousands of women have pursued a medical degree, have practiced medicine, conducted research, and lived full and rich lives. Their stories and their careers inspire each succeeding generation of women as they open doors, make new discoveries, and change the face of medicine.

It would be impossible to recognize the achievements and contributions of every women physician. We hope that by examining this exhibition, you will consider the woman physicians here as examples of the fuller fabric of women's contributions to medicine and their personal achievements in society.

Transparent spacer
Donald A. B. Lindberg, M.D.
Director, National Library of Medicine
National Institutes of Health
Tenley E. Albright, M.D.
Chair Ad Hoc Advisory Group
Harvard Medical School
Donald W. King, M.D.
Deputy Director for Research and Education
National Library of Medicine
National Institutes of Health
Mary Ellen Avery, M.D.
Thomas Morgan Rotch Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics, Emeritus
Pediatrics Department
Children's Hospital, Boston
Jeremiah A. Barondess, M.D.
President, The New York Academy of Medicine
Janet Bickel
Career Development Coach
Faculty Career and Diversity Consultant
Jordan Cohen, M.D.
President, Association of American Medical Colleges
Molly Joel Coye, M.D., M.P.H.
President and CEO, The Health Technology Center
Catherine DeAngelis, M.D., M.P.H.
Editor, JAMA
American Medical Association
Nancy Dickey, M.D.
President, The Texas A&M University System
Health Science Center
Vanessa Northington Gamble, M.D., Ph.D.
Washington, DC 20009
Margaret Knight
Executive Director, Association of American Indian Physicians
Judith Walzer Leavitt, Ph.D.
Ruth Bleier WARF Professor of Medical History
University of Wisconsin Medical School
Audrey Forbes Manley, M.D., M.P.H.
Washington, D.C.
Barbara J. McNeil, M.D., Ph.D.
Head, Department of Health Care Policy
Harvard Medical School
The Honorable Barbara A. Mikulski
United States Senate
Steven Peitzman, M.D.
Drexel University College of Medicine
Lucille C. Perez, M.D.
President, National Medical Association
Vivian W. Pinn, M.D.
Associate Director for Research on Women's Health
National Institutes of Health
Elena Rios, M.D., M.S.P.H.
President, National Hispanic Medical Association
Gloria E. Sarto, M.D., Ph.D.
University of Wisconsin Center for Women's Health
Kenneth Shine, M.D.
Senior Policy Fellow and Director
Center for Domestic and International Health Security
RAND Corporation
Eleanor G. Shore, M.D.
Dean for Faculty Affairs
Harvard Medical School
Omega C. Logan Silva, M.D.
Past President, American Medical Women's Association